Whiplash

img_4596

 

Sometimes I feel like I get artistic whiplash as I go from one style and medium to another during the week.  But I know that this is part of my exploration–perhaps obsessive exploration–of who I as an artist.  Maybe it’s just all that pent up creative energy that had been dormant for 40 years.  I’m not sure, but I’ve learned to just go with it.

 

So here’s a look at my week.  I worked on the large 30×30 abstract above.  It now has about 10 layers of paint on it.  I’m not sure if it’s finished so I’m going to live with it for awhile.

 

img_4602

And now to switch gears…I’m taking a beautiful online class called Poetic Wax and Plaster taught by Ivy Newport and Petra Hrziwantzki and this was this week’s project using plaster.  I collaged the papers into the wet plaster and then as I was looking for something in my very messy studio table drawer I found this rhinestone crown I bought four years ago.  It’s been rattling around in my drawer all this time just waiting for the right moment.  This seemed to be that moment and I embedded it in the wet plaster.  Painting on the plaster was like doing a fresco, layering paint and mixing colors.  Very soothing.  And finally, we were challenged to write a 10 Word Poem to go with the piece.  Here is mine:

 

child of blossoms

and butterflies

she was her

own queen

Taking walks is my favorite form of exercise these days and I love to wander the grounds of the beautiful Music Academy of the West.  Never without my phone (which I use far more as a camera),  I came across some things I wanted to photograph and then edit.  Here they are:

img_4600

img_4581

img_4595

 

Sometimes I can see how all my work relates, sometimes not.  But I do know one thing.  This is a journey of value and meaning and I don’t see it ending any time soon….

4 thoughts on “Whiplash

Leave a Reply

