Getting out of my own way

flowergarden

Into the Garden

30×30

acrylic on canvas

 

This past week I have continued my exploration of intuitive abstract painting.  I decided to go big.  This was the largest canvas I had ever done.  It totally intimidated me.  I got stuck about halfway through and was thoroughly frustrated.  So I put it away and just before I was getting ready to clean up my paint  (way too much left over) my eye caught on my art journal.  I decided to use up the paint.

And  I learned something very important for me….I need to remember to work in my journal.  It’s a place where I can get out of my own way and just experiment with colors, and composition, and texture.  I pulled out a copy of an old photo and just started gluing and painting and about an hour later I ended up happy, relaxed, and with this journal spread.  I did it with no expectations of the outcome.  There was the lesson.

 

IMG_2558

Art Journal Page

The next day when I came back to my painting, Into the Garden, I tried to bring some of that feeling back and I think it worked.  I’m happy with the results and the painting is now hanging just where I wanted it and it makes me smile every time I look at it.

Lesson learned.  (For now at least!)

6 thoughts on “Getting out of my own way

  1. love the title of this post. i hope to keep getting out of my own way too. thanks for the inspiration and for sharing both of these beautiful pieces!

  2. I so want to incorporate the routine of daily practice as you do Janet. It seems purposeful yet fluid in your approach just as you described in this post. I admire you my friend:)

    • I feel so fortunate to be able to have a daily practice now. It was a long wait and a bumpy road to get here. I appreciate every moment.

      At times I feel a little obsessed but in a good way.

      Thank you for your constant support and kind words, Robin.

Leave a Reply

