We’re Not in Kansas Anymore

 

 

IMG_2446Encaustic collage has become a favorite of mine.  I love gathering the materials almost as much as I love doing the actual collage.  I find many of my treasures in vintage stores and swap meets, and I’ve found wonderful things online, especially from etsy and ebay.

This piece includes a vintage map of Kansas I found at a swap meet.  I love the square shapes of the counties and the subtle coloring.  The old photo came from a vintage store in the nearby town of Carpinteria.  The drafting tool is from France and I found that on ebay.

In this piece I started with an 8×10 birch panel board covered with encaustic gesso.  Then I added two layers of natural white encaustic paint.  Next, I covered the inside of an old book cover with a layer of Venetian plaster.  After that dried, I began to layout my collage.

 

Here is my initial layout.

IMG_2379

Before I show you the next step, here’s a picture of my little wax set up.  It’s a small griddle (very inexpensive on amazon), small foil cake pans, an oven thermometer set on the griddle (for a more accurate temperature reading), an assortment of natural bristle and hake brushes, and the wax medium.  I use products from R & F.  The second photo shows some of my favorite tools and my practice board where I try things out.

IMG_2457

IMG_2405

My first layer is the map.  After it has been fused, I add the rest of the pieces, layer by layer, consulting the photo I took with my phone so I don’t forget the composition!  The last item, the drafting tool, is attached with E6000 glue.

IMG_2397

The finished collage is then mounted to the wood panel using Yes glue.

IMG_2406

I finish the piece by incising lines (after the being sure the wax on the panel board is cool) and rubbing oil pastel into the lines.  The edges are finished with liquid pencil, rubbed on gently.  After a final fuse, the piece is finished.

IMG_2446

I get drop in frames for my pieces from two sources.  Amazon has very nice ones for several standard sizes and FramesUSA has a multitude of standard sizes and you can order custom ones as well.

 

I hope you enjoyed seeing my work process!

4 thoughts on “We’re Not in Kansas Anymore

Leave a Reply

