The sum of its parts…

IMG_4709

Today I decided to take a little mixed media painting I did several months ago and re-work it.  An interesting lesson.  I decided it didn’t matter how it turned out…I wasn’t really happy with it in its original state….so I had nothing to lose.  I tried out some new things…alcohol inks on gesso, black edging, adding more fabric texture and other paper elements.

I also discovered something interesting when photographing it.  I liked the details.  I especially liked one where I had cut off the head of the girl in the painting.  This has lead me to think about a whole new way of doing these “portraits”  in which I hand tint copies of vintage photos.

bow wow cut

Here’s the original:

afterlight square spot

Here’s the new version:

full size bow wow

2 thoughts on “The sum of its parts…

Leave a Reply

